Saturday, August 14, 2010

Day 116: 0059


I was driving home from the bowling alley when a cop pulled me over. There's a traffic light out near the bowling alley. There's two cars in front of me, we all one by one roll up to the light, stop, look out into the nothingness (as no one is on these backroads this late at night), and continue on. Well after two cars ahead of me have gone I decide to just do a rolling stop so I don't have to shift back into first gear, and I go about my merry way.

Yeahhhhh there's a cop just sitting there waiting for people to do this exact thing. Actually he's probably waiting for people to just speed through it with no stopping whatsoever, but nobody's breaking the law around here so I guess he'll take what he can get.

He pulls me over and, at 12:59am on August 13th, immediately issues me a citation. For a rolling stop at a busted traffic light with absolutely no one around and two cars having gone ahead of me.

I get that it's still breaking the traffic rules. And I honestly never really had a huge problem with cops until this incident. But seriously. If he were really concerned about people's safety (the primary reason for HAVING traffic laws), he would have been out on that road directing traffic. Not lurking in the dark waiting for someone to do a rolling stop so he could get his jollies and slap a fine on some poor college student.

We have nothing more to do to pass the time
We will sit here we will wait
Until the outlaws come

Song: "I Feel You" by Disciple. Hard rock

No comments:

Post a Comment